Sam Houston Math, Science, and Technology Center
|Sam Houston Math, Science and Technology Center|
|9400 Irvington Blvd
Houston, Texas 77076
|Grades||9 - 12|
|Enrollment||2,617 (2014-15) |
|Feeder schools||Burbank Middle School|
Sam Houston Math, Science, and Technology Center (SHMSTC) is a
Established in 1889, Sam Houston operates the oldest high school newspaper in Texas, the Aegis. Additionally, the school boasts the world's first female-only military drill squad initially known as the Black Battalion but now called the Tigerettes. 
The school is often referred to simply as "Sam" by students, alumni, and faculty.
Sam Houston High School Baseball Field is located at.
Until the 1950s the block bordered by Austin, Capitol, Caroline, and Rusk in Downtown Houston housed the institutions that make up what is now Sam Houston High School. Houston Academy was there in the 1850s. In 1894 Central High School was built. J.R. Gonzales of the
According to a 1936 Houston Chronicle article, Sam Houston was to be renamed after
In 1955, Houston High School moved from its Capitol Street location in Downtown to its current location.
 The previous Sam Houston High School became the
Sam Houston has Texas' oldest high school newspaper, the Aegis, started in 1889. In addition, the world's first girls' Military Drill Squad (formerly known as the Black Battalion, but now called the Tigerettes) originated at the school.
The names of the individual schools currently occupying the Sam Houston campus were chosen in 2008. 
On Saturday February 12, 2011, a state historic marker was dedicated at Sam Houston. The Oran M. Roberts Chapter 440 of the